The Ruthlessness of Unconditional Love

13522628_10208808712551859_1402923913_nLove brings a lust for life, puts joy in our steps and a smile on our faces. We crave it, want it and must have it. We will do just about anything for love. Studies have shown that loving relationships promote healthier, happier, and longer lives, be it with our pets, plants, or others.

So Life inevitably presents each of us with lessons in love. How we embrace, integrate, and move through these challenges propels us into a state of expansion and freedom or restriction and fear.

I have learned a lesson or two from love. After the untimely and tragic death of my husband I learned that love will not be conditional. Love will accept the beloved in all of its perceived flaws because love sees through the mask to the profound pain that lies beneath. I learned that life is unpredictable and ephemeral. One cannot contain love or store it up. Love must be ravenously consumed in every present moment.

From the affairs that did not go in the direction I desired, I learned to love without the need for expectations. To love while letting go. Life is forever transmuting and evolving. Nothing stays the same as we are pushed and pulled by our demons and desires.

From relationships that left me feeling empty and less than, that tore my heart to shreds, I learned to be clear with myself about what I could not accept. I learned that what I must express is intimacy, passion, sensuality, and honesty.

From the relationships that sought to contain and define me I learned the lesson that lies at the core of all else. To love myself totally and completely in all of my raw and open vulnerability with a ruthless and unconditional fierceness that has no part in fear, that does not barter in restriction or limitation, but seeks only to be the fullest expression of love that it can possibly be.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

